Call for Expressions of Interest: Membership of the Tasmanian Aboriginal Heritage Council

​​​The Aboriginal Heritage Council is a 10-member Statutory Council established under the Aboriginal Heritage Act 1975. Membership comprises appropriately skilled and qualified Tasmanian Aboriginal people. Council members are appointed by the Governor on the recommendation of the Minister. 

The Council provides advice and recommendations to the Minister for Aboriginal Affairs on a broad range of matters relating to Aboriginal heritage, including permits for activities that will impact heritage and the management of Aboriginal cultural values in the Tasmanian Wilderness World Heritage Area. The Council also supports the development of information materials to inform the public and key stakeholders about the Aboriginal Heritage Act 1975, and best practice for managing Aboriginal heritage. 

The Tasmanian Government is currently seeking nominations from Tasmanian Aboriginal people to be appointed to the Council. Nominations are encouraged from Aboriginal people with knowledge or experience in Tasmanian Aboriginal cultural heritage and management, cultural values presentation and interpretation, understanding of relevant legislation and associated regulatory and assessment processes and/or governance experience. 

New Aboriginal cultural heritage legislation is currently being prepared and we anticipate the draft Exposure Bill to go out for consultation later this year. The new legislation is expected to provide for a strengthened Aboriginal Heritage Council. Due to this, appointment to the Council will be for a period of 12 months.​

Appointments to the Aboriginal Heritage Council are remunerated. Meetings are held in Hobart and reimbursement of reasonable travel expenses can be made. 

Potential applicants will need to commit a minimum of one day a month for Council meetings, and appropriate time to review and prepare for meetings. Meetings generally occur on the last Friday of each month. The Council is supported by Aboriginal Heritage Tasmania in the Department of Premier and Cabinet. 

A Council member must be an Aboriginal person who is eligible under the Tasmanian Government's policy on Eligibility for Tasmanian Government Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander programs and services. For further information regarding eligibility please contact Aboriginal Partnerships in the Department of Premier and Cabinet on (03) 6232 ​7569 or​.

For information about the application process or requirements​, please email, or call (03) 6232 7893. 

For further information about the Aboriginal Heritage Council, go to​.

Submit applications (see application form link below for details) to by Sunday 15 October 2023.